Teaching Advancement Board 2013-2014

The Teaching Advancement Board (TAB) encourages excellence and innovation in teaching. Twelve distinguished faculty members comprise the board.

The TAB has four main roles:

  1. evaluate and foster specific programs to improve the quality of teaching
  2. sponsor forms of recognition for excellence in teaching
  3. provide support for instructional enhancement
  4. promote developmental activity in support of teaching

The Teaching Advancement Board has proposed and implemented several programs to bring new visibility and improvement to teaching. These programs include:

The TAB also supports college-based professional development programs on teaching effectiveness (the Teaching Academies).

The TAB works closely with Instructional Development in the Center for Teaching Excellence.

Instructional Development provides workshops and the Faculty Retreat on Active Learning, an annual one-day event.

Committee Members 13-14

  • Mark Micale, co-chair (Spring 2014)

  • Sara Hook, co-chair, (Fall 2013)

  • Stephen Notaro, co-chair (2013-2014)
  • W. Brooke Elliott

  • Alan Hansen

  • David Hays

  • Soo-Yeun Lee
  • Robert Pahre

  • Rosa Milagros Santos Gilbertz

  • Peter Sheldon

  • Eric Snodgrass

  • Tim Stelzer
  • Michel Bellini, ex officio

  • Lauren Goodlad, ex-officio (Fall 2013)
  • Peter Mortensen, ex officio (Spring 2014)

Charge Letter 13-14

Back to Top